Print Thread
#712619 09/06/11 08:11 AM
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
I received this email

I am brand new to wine making. Last year I made some in August--in a 5 gallon glass jug. It was okay--good enough for me but 2 others turned their heads up at it--it wasn't strained. I use grapes from the vines outside--sometime in the Spring it turned to vinegar. Does anyone drink vinegar wine? I don't want to pour it out.

I need a simple-very simple recipe. Over the year I can pout blueberriy, strawberry, apples and peach juice into it. I did this last year and wonder if that made it turn to vinegar. I will read and consider any recipe you say is simple and works

I am not an expert on home winemaking, so this is the reply I sent

If the wine turned to vinegar -- rather than just being sour/sharp -- it could possibly be that you didn't use a Campden tablet

If you are using grapes from your garden, are they Vitis Vinifera? If not then they usually need extra treatment (added water and or sugar) to get a drinkable wine.

The best place for recipes for homemade wine from non-vinifera grapes and other fruits is Jack Kellers site at http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/index.asp

Scroll down to the very bottom of that page and you'll find a 6x3 grid of yellow boxes with links to everything you need to know, including many recipes for all sorts of grapes & fruits, and there's tons more info if you read Jacks blog.

In particular, your vinegar problem is discussed here http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/problems.asp , look for Acetification (under Uncommon problems)

I thought I post the Q & A here since Jack Kellers site is a tremendous resource that anyone considering making wine at home should know about.

Peter F May, Wine Editor
Wine Website
WineForum
My Book
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk