Money
News & Politics
Relationships
Religion & Spirituality
Sports
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies
Safety
We take forum safety very seriously here at BellaOnline. Please be sure to read through our Forum Guidelines. Let us know if you have any questions or comments!
Newest Members
astrovalley, angella, cory455, marger, simplicityshines
57413 Registered Users
Forum Stats
57413 Members
417 Forums
113476 Topics
805639 Posts

Max Online: 537 @ 07/02/12 07:21 AM
Top Posters (30 Days)
"Rosie" 493
Beetlemess 242
Jana - Creativity Editor 142
Connie - ADD/Sandwiches 135
Lisa LowCarb / VideoGames 92
Nancy Roussy 88
Susan - Meditation Editor 46
Sandra Investing/HFinance 44
Mona - Astronomy 44
Dianne W - Editor 26
Ad Income Supports Charity
Topic Options
#712619 - 09/06/11 08:11 AM Home winemaking problems
Peter - Wine Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet

I received this email

I am brand new to wine making. Last year I made some in August--in a 5 gallon glass jug. It was okay--good enough for me but 2 others turned their heads up at it--it wasn't strained. I use grapes from the vines outside--sometime in the Spring it turned to vinegar. Does anyone drink vinegar wine? I don't want to pour it out.

I need a simple-very simple recipe. Over the year I can pout blueberriy, strawberry, apples and peach juice into it. I did this last year and wonder if that made it turn to vinegar. I will read and consider any recipe you say is simple and works

I am not an expert on home winemaking, so this is the reply I sent

If the wine turned to vinegar -- rather than just being sour/sharp -- it could possibly be that you didn't use a Campden tablet

If you are using grapes from your garden, are they Vitis Vinifera? If not then they usually need extra treatment (added water and or sugar) to get a drinkable wine.

The best place for recipes for homemade wine from non-vinifera grapes and other fruits is Jack Kellers site at http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/index.asp