Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
BellaOnline Editor
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
This is my first time trying to grow lantana. I have it in a hanging pot in the full sun. Its leaves are now drooping! The soil is bone dry too - I worried that I was overwatering it but I don't think that's it.

Any ideas?

Lisa Shea, Low Carb and Video Games Editor
Low Carb Forum
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
Hello Lisa and everyone,

Your Lantana certainly looks unhappy and I can add some commentary which may help sort it out though for reasons you will read about, I have mixed feelings about this particular plant.

In South Africa it has been declared a Category 1 invader plant which means that it must be removed from the garden immediately and destroyed. I think it is such a pretty and useful plant but it is a water guzzler and can if given a chance just take over in the garden; though is a container some measure of control is possible from its wide spreading roots.

Now when I discussed this last with my nurseryman Mike, he said there are some cultivars which are still sold in nurseries here (but these are non-seeding and sterile cultivars) and he recommended just leaving it off a shopping list to be safe. I thought this was such a pity because it is very pretty, colourful, invites bees butterflies and hummingbirds into the garden and is a practical bushy plant good with cascading down steep slopes and helping stabilising ground and with soil erosion. All of that having been said though, the berries can be poisonous, the leaves definitely are and there has been stock loss reported here in SA (not sure about USA).