Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
D
There's a new article up on the Biology Site: Cell Theory - A Foundation of Biology

"The first cell "discovery" is credited to Robert Hooke in 1665. Examining very thin slices of cork under a rudimentary microscope, he noticed that the cork was composed of hundreds of tiny attached structures that reminded him of the "cells" that monks of the time lived in - rather like tiny one-room apartments. The name "cell" stuck and the term is still used today."

After you've read the article come on back here to discuss it!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
C
C
Cell is basically divided into the three categories as per the structure of Nucleus, 1) Prokaryotic cell. 2) Mesokaryotic cell. 3) Eukaryotic cell.

Shark
Shark
Yes Exactly, I was a biology student so I've read all these things. But it is not common for everyone so it will be interesting for others to read the article and understand it. For me reading the article was like my school day back in my memory...Aahhh!!
Thanks.

D
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
D
Clenbut - yes, cells are wonderfully varied and often complicated, aren't they? I've got that subject lined up for a future article, in fact. Thanks for commenting!

Kaycee - I'm glad it brings back fond memories for you! I've had some comments from various people who didn't know that once upon a time scientists believed in "spontaneous generation!" They were amazed, and I find it interesting to see how much our knowledge about things changes over time.

C
C
Ya i agree with you Deborah, Theory of Spontaneous Generation was put forward by the German scientist Francesco Redi, and he performed and experiment regarding this, he used swan neck shaped flask to prove that microorganism may develop spontaneously.

Shark
Shark
I am trying to recall that theory, but can't completely. Deborah will tell me about it in details right?

D
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
D
Kaycee,