Print Thread
#669828 03/13/11 07:17 PM
S
SWK Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
S
Ok, I know a 5K doesn't seem like a big deal to most folks who run, but I'm fairly new to running (having only started about a year ago) and am more of a walk-run type person. I do about 3 miles on a treadmill a couple of times a week, alternating walking and running. However, I'm considering signing up for a 5K. It's actually a Dog Jog, so people will be trotting along with their pups. And "runners" say it's a non-competitive run. But I'm nervous about making a fool of myself due to my, uh, lack of speed. Has anyone experienced a small-town 5K--and if so, how competitive was it? (Basically, how worried should I be!?)

SWK
Sponsored Post Advertisement
SWK #669831 03/13/11 07:25 PM
Amoeba
Amoeba
If people are running with their dogs, then I can't believe that it will be competitive. Most dogs do too much stopping to smell the bushes or the other dogs' butts!

In terms of thinking of trying a small-town 5K that is just people, I've never been to one where there are not some folks who are either walking the whole way or running and walking.

5K's are a nice distance. A goal to giving a bit of focus to your workout, but you don't have to be a "real runner" to complete a 5K.

If you are already covering 3 miles, even with the walking and running, you'll do fine.

So, how worried should you be? NOT AT ALL!!!

And honestly, I've never known the real runners to look down on those walking and running. My favorite quote comes from a "real runner" and he said, "No matter how slowly you covered the distance, you are ahead of the guy sitting on his sofa eating Twinkies!" So enjoy and be proud of yourself!

AnneE #669841 03/13/11 08:03 PM
C
Parakeet
Parakeet
C