Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#661859 02/09/11 04:12 PM
P
Panagea Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I have an idea for a preschool series book but don't know where to start. Can someone help?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
A
BellaOnline Editor
Amoeba
BellaOnline Editor
Amoeba
A
I'd love to help! Tell me more. Have you started to write? Do you have a page written on the backstory of each character? What age range are the stories for? Do you have an outline for the plot of each book?

Best,
Annamaria

Annamaria Farbizio
Writing for Children
P
Panagea Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Thanks! So, I have a degree in early childhood and have been working in the field for over 20 years. I am now caring for children in my home. I know there is something else out there for me and I know it has to do with children. I have this idea for a series geared towards toddler/preschool age. There is not much writing involved, the sentences are short and simple. The illustrations are the key but I don't draw! There is a plot and lots of characters that all have their own personlity. I stumbled across your site and I think it is a good omen. I don't know where to go from here. When you talk about an outline for the book, it is difficult because this is a simple plot for young children. Thanks for your help!

A
BellaOnline Editor
Amoeba
BellaOnline Editor
Amoeba
A
It's fabulous that you have a professional background in this area! It will be a tremendous asset as you market your work.

I'd write the first story and write some of the backstory character descriptions and a quick overview of the entire series including age range and number of books. Don't worry about the illustrations unless you are self publishing. Your publisher will assign an illustrator to your work.