Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
PJK56 Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
P
I was wondering how you prepare your plants from the freezing temps? Since it is suppose to really get cold here in the Houston area, we carried our plants in containers into the garage, and covered all the others with blankets and sheets. We have so many plants and most of them are tropicals. Alot of work for just a few days since by the weekend it is suppose to be around 70 again. It sure beats having to buy new plants though, and our plants are blooming and have such beautiful flowers right now. Our hibicus have flowers and double impatients are just gorgeous right now.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
D
Gecko
Gecko
D
How did it go with your plants, PJK? I'm afraid I have no experience in that area, but it sounds like you have a lovely yard. You might try asking in some of the garden forums. I would hate to see you lose anything!

P
PJK56 Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
P
Thanks Donna. We made it through that one, and got all the plants put back out again. It has been really nice here, and now this week it has really gotten cold and had to carry the plants around again into the garage and cover the ones that are in the ground. I don't know if the ones we covered will make it since we got down around 20's at night. Gosh this is bad, and suppose to start sleeting and snowing any minute now and through tomorrow. Keeping our fingers crossed, but not looking good. Hope everything is going good for you.

D
Gecko
Gecko
D
Things are going well here -- so far this winter we haven't had the snow/sleet/ice issues that so many other areas are having. Hope that your plants do okay!

P
PJK56 Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
P