Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#646932 12/02/10 11:34 AM
R
Rick67 Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hello everyone. I am new at being a fish tank owner. I set up a 20 gallon tank for my fishes about 2 months ago. Waited 2 weeks before adding fish and changed 1/4 of the tank every week. I even went to the pet store and had my water tested as it was getting blurry and was not sure why and they told me my water was fine. The store told me it was normal to have foggy water as it is called Tank syndrome". Anyhow,we got the water clear again and decided it was time to pick up fishes. Everything was fine until yesterday when I came home from work and noticed I had 3 fish dead!!! I changed my water last night, well a 1/4 of it and later last evening the remainder of the fish died but 1. In total I had 5 very small fish, 2 of another kind(small) and a mid size white fish and a little blue one,sorry I do not have the breed kind as I am at work now. We put rocks on the bottom and some decorations. I have a heater and a pump and lights for the tank. I change the filters of the pump everytime I change the water. Now...we are on well water and not city water...so I am not sure if this could be the issue but I am getting my well water fully tested this week just to be on the safe side. The fish I want which I did not purchase yet as it requires the ph level to be lower than usual so I have been testing this for the last 2 weeks or so and have been adding ph adjuster to lower it every night I had to put 20 drops of ph adjuster as my ph level was at 7.5 but for some reason the ph has not gone down considering I have been adding this stuff every night for 2 weeks??? It has gone down somewhat but not very much thus the reason I have been treating it every night!! I hope this makes somewhat sense to an expert out there and hopefully I can get some answers to my problem. Thank you. Rick

Sponsored Post Advertisement
T
T