Page 1 of 2 1 2
#644650 11/23/10 05:54 PM
A
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
A
Hi folks,

I'm the new editor over at Senior Living. This is a first for me and I am looking forward to joining your community. Since I'm a newbie and there are so many paths to take, I'd love any suggestions or comments on articles you might be interested in.

My parents are both living but my Dad has been in poor health for years and Mom has become his caretaker. As you all know, it's difficult to watch your parents age and even more difficult to know you'll be following in their footsteps soon enough.

I'd love to see shared stories and inspirations on the subject. Like it's often said, it's the journey that makes the trip worthwhile.

Alice, Senior Living Editor
Senior Living Website
Senior Living Forum

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Tiger
Tiger
Alice:

Welcome.

I used to be the Walking Editor and know that you will do an awesome job with this forum.

I would love to hear about how you are dealing with the "emotions" I am sure you are experiencing in regards to your dad's poor health - if you don't mind talking about this.

If you do mind, just pretend I did not ask (lol)

A
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
A
I don't mind at all. With sewing for Christmas I may not be around as much as I'd like. Dad is so stubborn. He's had a triple bi-pass, diabetes, parkinson's, skin cancer, strokes, and we still can't keep him out of the yard pulling weeds. I'm across the country but talk with Mom and my sisters all the time. At this point I'm just glad he's still here and that Mom is able and willing to care for him. It breaks my heart that I'm not there to help so Mom can have a break. We're trying to sell our house and move closer but with the market like it is, I'm not sure we'll be living close by any time soon.

Senior Living Website
Senior Living Forum

Tiger
Tiger
Alice, you will get to move closer to your parents - NEVER give up on that hope.

So what are you sewing for Christmas?

A
Chimpanzee
Chimpanzee