logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
OP Offline
My son said he has not seen the Mona Lisa in person, but he did have this to say for us:

"I've seen lots of DaVinci's works in person though, at the Prado Museum in Spain, and at Uffizi Gallery in Florence, Italy. Having seen all the greats in person though, I can say without any hesitation that the most amazing painting talent I have seen is Rembrandt. His paintings are almost like Polaroid snapshots. I'm really not an expert at all on paintings, but seeing Rembrandts work in person literally left me speechless. It doesn't seem possible that a human hand can do what he did.

My own favorite painter, though, is Carravagio. Very dark (literally and figuratively) but the emotion and way he depicts light and shadow is great."

Walk in Peace and Harmony.
Phyllis Doyle Burns
Avatar: Fair Helena by Rackham, Public Domain
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
One of my favorite paintings is by Leonardo da Vinci.
It is actually his only painting in the U.S.

It is called "Ginevra de' Benci," (1474/1478) and it can be seen at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.

Once when I was there a woman said that she had also seen the "Mona Lisa" and she felt that "Ginevra" was more beautiful.

What do you think?

Camille Gizzarelli
Bellaonline.com Art Appreciation Editor
OP Offline
The face is far more beautiful than Mona Lisa, but, more austere. Mona Lisa has that little smile that endears her to everyone.

Ginervra de' Benci

da Vinci's work is amazingly beautiful.

Last edited by Phyllis, Native American; 11/17/09 07:09 PM.

Phyllis Doyle Burns
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
Phyllis, thank you for the visual of Ginevra.

I am partial to her being my favorite of the two.

She has a slight blush on the cheeks, shiny curls, and the sheerest material on the top of her dress.