Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
R
Here is a recent article on couples and retirement - Speaking of retirement, most couples don't.

I found the results of the survery a little surprising. What do you think?

Reshma Vyas, Home Finance Editor
Home Finance Website
Home Finance Forum
Sponsored Post Advertisement
That was a very interesting article and here is a comment from one who was forced to continue working after the age of 65. Actually, I did retire in 2002 when I was 65, but in 2003 was asked to do a contract job in another state. I am an automation technician working on the electrical systems of automatic manufacturing equipment and I agreed to install some equipment for the company that made it in a new plant. Long story short, even though the head engineer from the selling company was on site directing my work, the owner decided that his problems with the customer were my fault and refused to pay me most of my money. I had to sue and of course only got part of my money which I had to share with the lawyers. So I found a job in my field in a small local plant and presently am still working full time. The point I am trying to make is this. It is very easy to fall into the trap while you are working to spend all you make and even spend beyond your earnings. Credit has been way too easy for everyone. Credit is a trap to enslave us and unless we learn some discipline about our finances and our wants, we end up still working at the age of 72 like me instead of doing the traveling, fishing, or whatever our dreams have been. Hopefully, some of the younger members on this forum might take my example and use it as a lesson better than I did. The good news for me is that I have been able to create an online income and in only about 5 months, I will finally be able to retire. Dave

R
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
R
Dave,

Congrats on your new venture! I hope you have a wonderful retirement!