logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
G
OP Offline
G
Hey everyone, I've missed you! Have been (and am currently) researching diagnosed mental disorders among teen girls and am very interested in hearing from those of you who may have some experience in this area. I am specifically interested in hearing from educators and parents with opinions on how these issues are met with in public school systems.

Due to what's been going on with my beautiful daughter I have become jaded and uber cynical with regards to how these kids are treated.

FYI: I graduated highschool in 1985 when succumbing to a disorder "was not an option." So I am extremely familiar with the generational gap view of the issue. I'd like to concentrate on the here and now and current stigmatization issues.

Everyone have a wonderful day! ;-)

Gina Cowley, Women's Issues Editor
Women's Issues
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
Please try to get information on the missing young girl in the Philadelphia area. The police waited too long to begin looking for her and are blaming it on a language barrier with her Spanish speaking foster mom. The missing girl is autistic and bipolar.

The mom has made the media aware that she did convey that the girl had mental issues (not emotional issues which the police claim and made them treat her as a typical teen runaway). According to the mom they didn't even want to take the photo of the daughter that she tried to supply It was nearly 48 hours before the police began a real search. As far as I know she has been missing for nearly a week now.