logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#511605 04/10/09 10:43 PM
Parakeet
OP Offline
Parakeet
I've been thinking a long time about being a professional coach but I am not sure what kind of coach it is.

I want to niche it pretty tight and coach people either in the middle of divorcing, or are divorced. I would like to work with parents helping them co parent together, and also individually just helping people get on with their life.

What would you call this?

What is required to becoming a coach?

I have a bachelors degree in business... not exactly the proper credentials for this type of coaching. I could probably easily coach people in business, but that isn't really ideal for me.

I would love to give seminars, talk to groups, etc.. I feel like I need a lot of training and experience to do this. I am getting ready to start my Masters degree in Human Environmental Science with a concentration in Family Financial Planning and counseling.

I am also going to start a radio show where I will interview a lot of people.

I feel like within two years I should be ready to be a coach.

Am I on the right path?

Stephanie Watson
Weight Loss Editor

Sponsored Post Advertisement
L
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
L
Hi Stephanie:

Congratulations on your decision to pursue coaching!

Yes you are on the right path. You have a desire to help people and you�ve already decided on a specialty. Further you know the types of programs you�d like to offer�workshops, radio programs etc.

Currently there is no governing body that is policing the coaching industry, certifying professionals etc. However most of the life coaches that I�ve interviewed, including those who already have graduate degrees have been through some sort of formalized life coach training. I recommend formalized training in that it can give you not only confidence, but also support and a vast array of resources.