#483632 01/09/09 08:37 PM
D
BellaOnline Editor
Wolf
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Wolf
D
I have a degree, but I still take classes occassionally. Being a divorced/single mom, it's easier to take classes online than going to sit in a class for 3-4 hours. I just wish they offered a discount on online classes :-)
I do find, however, that it's good for the kids to see me studying too.
Not all classes are great to take via distance learning. I took an accounting class on-line, I passed it but for a class like that I probably would have done better instructor led. I took an organizational course on-line - mostly reading and writing papers, that was a lot easier.

Dianne Walker

Action Movie Editor
Action Movies Site

How do I relax? I run!
Grandma to Half Marathon
Sponsored Post Advertisement
Dianne,
One of the down sides to distance learning is that the material may at times be hard to digest. I have had to retake a course recently in psychology on tests and measurements and learning about the many (and there are a lot) tests available, how to assess results, and everything involved with administering, scoring, understanding them was difficult the first time around. And this time (I have 5 weeks left) its not any easier.

I found that my children are impressed when Im deep in study and they come in and do their homework (after snack) however, my day stops for 4 hours when they get home (dinner, helping with their homework, going over their day at school) it can get rough and tiresome.

All I can say is take breaks when you need them but by all means do not quit. Even if you do poorly or the class is hard to take without being in a class I still believe that you learned what your limitations are. And when we find out our limitations it allows us to better approach and reach goals in life or education.
Sanita

Sanita Salter, DistLearning Editor
Dist Learning Website
Dist Learning Forum
K
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
K