Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#452617 09/15/08 05:56 PM
"Rosie" Offline OP
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
OP Offline
My two granddaughters told me they don't have art in school. Do your children have art classes in their schools.?

Rosie L
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
Whenever the school budget gets cut, art is the first thing to go. Sad but true.

I don't know how people expect to raise creative thinkers without art, not to mention if you live in a culture you should know something about it.

Basically school administrators look at the art class as providing 2 services:
1. A free, planning period for the "regular" teachers.
2 A source of decorations for bulletin boards and school plays.

Parents think of art class with as much value as sandbox or recess. They certainly don't want their child wanting to grow up to be a "starving artist."

As a former art teacher I've been dealing with this attitude for a long time.

My children had a Phys. Ed teacher teaching art in their elementary school! "What difference does it make, it's not like it's an important class!"

I could go on at length, but I start to get very irate.

BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
Oh my gosh, Helen really? I think art is one of the most important things in school. Creative thinking is what starts businesses, they are the people that can run companies, inspire others AND change the world.

I'm as irate as you are. Luckily our school district has a well rounded art and music program.

Signed creative thinker...freelance writer and certainly not starving!

Violette DeSantis, Writely Applied
Blogs/Social Networking Editor
Small Office/Home Office Editor

Now writing at BloggingTips.com & Soaps.com. For updates visit videsantis.WritelyApplied.com.

"Energy rightly applied and directed will accomplish anything" ~ Nellie Bly
S
Gecko
Gecko
S