Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#437183 07/21/08 12:17 PM
P
OP Offline
P
I am new to the motorcycling world I purchased a new 650 Silverado back in March. Took a two day training course and have still not ridden it. The training that was so helpful also made me somewhat fearful. I am looking at buying a tow pac to put on the bike to help with balance issues while I learn the maneuvers fo shifting, ect. and become more comfortable. I am looking for input from others regarding this. Any information will be helpful.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
F
froggie0424
Unregistered
froggie0424
Unregistered
F
Definitely get on your bike in a safe area and practice first. Riding a bigger bike is a lot different than riding the small 250 cc bikes that the classes often use.

Otherwise, just riding will help you get over a lot of that. I was a bit tentative after taking the course too, but after puttering around my neighborhood for awhile, I was ready to move on...

#437301 07/21/08 09:23 PM
C
Parakeet
Parakeet
C
I second puttering around the neighborhood until you get familiar and comfortable with the bike, and then you can venture farther, but stay off the interstate for a while ;-).

March was a long time ago and you've probably forgotten a lot of what you learned so go slow, but don't wait until you've forgotten it all! That bike is begging to be ridden! Ride around the block a lot, in the middle of the morning when traffic is lightest. If you balance all right on a bicycle you should do fine on the mcycle, the key is to be moving ahead. You might want to just practise shifting from first to second and then stopping, downshifting and doing it over again. Baby steps, until you feel ready to go up one more gear. If it takes you a long time, so what? The main thing is to get out there and get on that beautiful new bike.

C
C
Got a high school nearby? They have nice large open parking lots that aren't in use for a couple of weeks yet.

P
P