logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
H
OP Offline
H
Hi all! I am a newbie sewer since I haven't sewn since Home Ec class some 15yrs ago.I was wondering if you all could help me.I have always had trouble with trying to raise the bobbin thread.I hope I asked that right.I can thread the top but after I have thread the bobbin and put the bobbin into the shuttle I think it is called.But after that I hit a brick wall.Please anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?I have a Singer Simple Model no. 3116.Please help?!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
S
S
On the right side of the machine there is a "wheel" Turn that wheel towards you and it will make the Needle go down, which will grab your bobbin thread.

Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
Hi Mom welcome to the forum, I can't sew to save myself, but i did want to welcome you

Rosie L
In addition to the post above by Sept62...
Hang on to the top thread that is already threaded through the eye of your machine with one hand. Now turn the wheel (called the Balance Wheel) once around completely while still holding on to the top thread. Then turn it a second time and stop.

While still holding on to that top thread, take a pair of scissors and pass the pointed ends underneath the foot on the machine towards you. The bobbin thread should be there and you should be able to "catch" it with the scissors (or any long thin object). You should now see two ends of thread, one belonging to the top thread and the other is the bobbin thread.

If you're ready to jump-start your sewing projects, learn helpful hints and tips, and have more fun in your historical sewing, then get your FREE sewing tips now at www.CloakAndCorset.com!
R
R