Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#429298 06/22/08 10:08 PM
G
OP Offline
G
Hi everyone,
My name is Gertie. I am new to crocheting and I found this forum when I was searching for help with a pattern. I was wondering if someone would be willing to answer a question for me. I just want to say before I ask that I am not lazy or stupid. I know how online forums can be sometimes when you ask questions that seem very simple you get accused of being dumb or too lazy to figure it out on your own. However, I just want to state that I don't know anyone who crochets or knits personally and there are no classes or crocheting clubs/groups in my rural town where I could find help. Believe me I've looked so I am just flying blind here...trial and error.

With that said this is my question and I hope there are nice people here to help. I am only on the first row and I am stuck at the part where it says finish of:. The pattern says it is rated easy but the instructions at the end of the row don't seem clear to me.

Row 1 (Right side): Sc in second ch from hook and in next ch, * ch 4, skip next 2 chs, sc in next ch; repeat from * across; (I've done all that and here is where I am confused) finish off: 71 sc and 69 ch-4 sps.

If I am at the end of row 1 and wasn't told to turn my work where am I putting these 71 sc? Also does this mean 71 sc PLUS 69 sc? If so why not say 140 sc? etc....?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
P
P
Hi Gertie!

Welcome to crocheting! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do (it relaxes me)!

I learned how to crochet in a similar way (so I understand a little how you feel). Someone taught me the basic sitches, then I taught myself how to read patterns. I used the internet a lot to ask for help with things I couldn't figure out.

Okay, let me see if I can help you. I'm guessing the instructions are telling you to "finish off" after the first row because you are going to change colors or something, but...