logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
OP Offline
J
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting on here. I am a brand new quilter and I have only done small projects and I am about to start quilting my first quilt. My grandmother gave me today a quilt top pieced by my great grandmother probably 40 or 50 years ago. I would love to finish this quilt but i don't know what would be the best way to quilt this as far as a pattern goes. All I have done so far is the 1/4 quilting(is that what you call it, quilting 1/4 inch inside the border of each piece?). I know I could do that on it but I want it to be special all things considered. What looks best on a grandmother's flower garden quilt is my question. Just the quilting I mentioned above or can you do more elaborate patterns and it will look good? Any suggestions or pictures would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

Carly

Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
Hi there Carly, I've been waiting for other quilters to reply to your question, as I've never actually hand quilted a Grandmothers Flower Garden Quilt. But my gut feeling, would be simply to continue doing what you're doing - quilting inside the border of each "petal". I think this genre of quilt generally speaking, lends itself to simple quilting, to allow the patternation and variety of fabrics to be admired in their full beauty. A busy quilting pattern might detract from the lovely work. How lucky you are to be given the opportunity to complete a quilt that was started with great intentions so long ago. Thank goodness the quilt was kept. We'd love to see a photo when you're finished. Happy quilting
Cheerio for now

Judie Bellingham
Editor Australia & Quilting Sites

www.bellaonline.com/site/australia
www.bellaonline.com/site/quilting
J
OP Offline
J
Hi Judie,