Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
E
Koala
Koala
E
My husband's my best friend too. There is no one else in this world who has gone through as much together with me as he has.

Funnily enough, speaking of sweetness and roses... my mother warned me just after my marriage, saying that I needed to wake up and stop thinking I had a "fairy-tale" marriage. Ha! I always think of the best retorts days or weeks later. I wish I'd thought then to say to her: "I don't want a fairy-tale marriage, thank you. In a fairy-tale, something always goes wrong in order to separate the happy couple so that when they finally beat the odds and get back together it is all the sweeter. There's so much drama, tears, heartbreak, nasty third-parties trying to split up the couple, etc. Who needs all that? No - what I want, and what I have, is just a normal, happy, content marriage. No drama. I'm a writer - the drama goes on the page, not in my marriage. I never take what my husband says the wrong way: a sure way to start a bitter fight where nothing he can say can make it right. I know what he means, or what he's trying to communicate, even if the words sometimes come out a bit wrong. We give each other the benefit of the doubt, we ask rather than assume. We live our lives trying to make things a little nicer for the other person, and in turn each contribute to making life pleasant for ourselves too. It probably sounds "boring" to you, but it's precious to me."

Elle Carter Neal
BellaOnline Alumna
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
BellaOnline Editor
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity