Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
B
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
B
Hi Julie:

I've been doing genealogy for 30 years and it is still as exciting as the first time.

I have had two brick-wall lines, such as your own and was able to break that brick wall completly.

The first was, like yours, a great grandfather from Tenn. He had moved from Tenn. into my county when he was 21. Nothing was known of his past and no one in Tenn knew where he had gone. All my grandmother could tell me was the community he came from. She didn't even know her grandparents names.
I ordered a death certificate and got his parents name from that and then took a weekend trip to that community. I pulled into a gas station and asked the owner if he knew anyone living in the area by that last name. He smiled and pulled a huge book out from under the counter. It was a complete history of all the families of that county. I was thrilled. But I was even more amazed when he told me the man who wrote the book lived a mile down the road and that he would give him a call.
In ten minutes I was sitting in a warm kitchen with the county historian, who was able to tell me everything I could have possibly wished for and more. he took me on a tour of the cemeteries and showed me my gg grandfather's grave which I never would have found on my own because it was in a private cemetery that he took care of. I left that day with the complete history of the family, along with the names of other families they were related too, and about 12 pictures he was kind enough to make copies of on his scanner and give me.

The second one was my husbands line. His great grandfather came to the area from Wisconsin. Absolutly nothing was known about him other than he came from Wisconsin and he was german.