Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#367722 01/19/08 08:27 AM
J
jaydee Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I teach in a middle school resource room. I co-teach four hours out of the day and have two hours self-contained. I have a particular student who suffers from ADHD and has been self medicating with drugs for several years now. When he comes to school he is fine for the first hour or two but after that, he is excessively restless and fidgety and disrupts students and the learning environment. He refuses to stay in class and refuses to participate in most learning activities. I have been teaching for fifteen years and I have exhausted all my resources with this student. The administration has reduced his day to four hours but I have ethical issues with that as he isn't receiving a quality education. Although, with him present, others aren't receiving a quality education either. Do you have any suggestions? We have tried behavior plans but at the middle school they are so difficult to follow because they involve so many different people (as he sees seven different teachers in a day). Extrinsic rewards are not motiviating for him. He likes working, making money, and doing physical labor. I have racked my brain trying to find a way to work that into his school day but we are so limited in our options in our district.
Help....please!!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
jaydee #367766 01/19/08 04:25 PM
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
Hi Jaydee,Im not an expert but I really feel for you (I am a teacher, special ed reading coach and have a daughter with dyspraxia)

Asyou have exhausted all options, you may be able to make a case with your superiors for some creativity leeway here,

For example - how about encouraging him to bring in a positive activity that he enjoys from home - seeing what educational mileage you can get out of it? It could be saved for the difficult later hours and used as a reward.