Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#363458 01/03/08 09:08 PM
A
ArleneM Offline OP
OP Offline
A
I know this is going to sound silly to some folks, but this question nags me constantly....

I'm 6 classes from my Bachelor's degree in Computer Information Systems. I work as an Admin Assistant. I have a 4.0 GPA. Even so...AM I READY FOR AN INFO TECH JOB? CAN I CUT IT IN THE WORK FORCE? DID I WASTE ALL THAT MONEY ON MY EDUCATION, ONLY TO BE A SECRETARY FOREVER?

Whew! I finally said it "out loud"! Thanx for listening...

Arlene

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Owl Offline
Amoeba
Amoeba
I'm sure you'll do a great job at a new career. You just have to have an eagerness to learn and do a good job and not set your expectations too high. It's never a bad thing to start at an entry level position and work your way up. When I first started with the company I work for, I started at the very bottom and have worked my way up since. I have found that colleagues and bosses admire me for that, and actually come to me for advice, even if they have more experience than me in the field.
Good luck with everything and congratulations on your upcoming graduation!

L
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
BellaOnline Editor
Parakeet
L
Greetings Arlene:

It's understandable that you're apprehensive about entering a new field. One huge advantage that you have is that you've already entered the World of Work. You've experienced being new on the job before and survived. Have faith that you can do it again.

Also I'd like to recommend this book: "New kid on the block : 10 steps to help you survive and thrive in the first 100 days of your new job" by Frances Kay.

Congratulations on your 4.0 GPA. I'm sure you'll be a huge success. Good luck!

Leah

LEAH MULLEN
LIFE COACHING

Shark
Shark
Hi Arlene,

Congratulations on being honest with YOURSELF!

Something must have inspired you towards taking your education in the first place. What was it?