#363233 01/03/08 12:14 PM
V
BellaOnline Editor
Wolf
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Wolf
V
I started this thread in the Children's book writing site so thought it would be a good question to ask here as well.
For those of you who want to be or are writers, when did you first decide that you wanted to write books ands make money from them?

I wanted to be a writer ever since I was in the sixth grade and read my first chapter book as a class. Each one of us would a paragraph or two out loud in each chapter and I was enthralled by it for reasons I cannot even explain now.

I even got my first typewriter on my 13th birthday. My cousin and I used to write silly commercials and stories to go along with pictures we drew of Godzilla, Rodan, Mothra, etc...

What's your story?

Vance Rowe
Crime Editor
Sponsored Post Advertisement
J
Koala
Koala
J
I started writing stories in grade school and wanted to be a writer then. I took a detour in the military for about 8 years and in college, I majored in English and History so I could write historical novels.

Over the years, when my daughter was small, I wrote 3 romance novels but never got one published. I did get a couple of short stories published in those years. Eventually I got side tracked and it still took me another 15 years to start writing professionally. I got hired on at a small town newspaper, then branched out to other freelance writing.

I still think I have a book in me and part of my new years' resolution is to get out a suspense novel I've been working on and see how far I can take it.

B
Shark
Shark
B
Hi Vance, I have written many editorials over the past years for newspapers, now I am a local correspondent for my newspaper back on the east coast. I, of course, write of my adventures here in Alaska.
I began writing my book on my journey from Pennsylvania to Alaska. A two week road trip and what has happened since. It is a work in progress but one which many people have encouraged me to write.

V
BellaOnline Editor