logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Gecko
OP Offline
Gecko
HA! Soon as I'd written that line I realised how it could sound, like I'm trying to buy a baby or something! Oh HELL NO!
I'm talking about buying things for kids.
Remember I am a teacher so I work with kids.
I really LOVE my class this year (so far, I only have 17 and I could get up to 10 more next month HELP! and they could be little *@#! for all I know!) they are cute, funny, sweet, smart (well not ALL!!) and well behaved. Now my colleague and I agreed we'd buy them a gift each.
OK somehow this job fell to me! Maybe cos she works longer hours (but again, that's not my fault!) or cos she was visiting her mum in a country area on the weekend?
ANYWAY I've got pretty much everything but although like I said they're great kids, the best class I have EVER had and I DO feel blessed to have such a great bunch and I DO agree they deserve a present, buying it was kinda boring!
And I found myself thinking I hope this is OK, I hope they like it etc. And although I was pleased with the things I found (my colleague and I had talked about what to look out for) after I'd got most of it I decided I had done ENOUGH and I didn't want to do any more!
Plus I got it as close to home as possible!
I could have gone a bit further out to maybe a cheaper shop or more selection (although what I found was nice) but I admit I didn't want to! I just wanted to get it out of the way.
I am happy to give them a present and even though I can get the money back, I don't want to - they've earned it.
But the actual act of BUYING the stuff, and looking for it, was such a bore chore it was NOT a pleasure AT all.
Now I don't mind cos it's just a Christmas thing, fine. But I think I would personally find it SO DULL shopping constantly for kiddie things they wanted or needed.
Call me selfish if you want - and I happen to have some pretty UNselfish reasons for not having/wanting kids too - but that's how I feel.