Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
V
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
V
I use audio books a lot with the special needs students I work with. I wrote an article about how I use audio books to improve reading fluency, comprehension and vocabulary.

I would like to know of any experiences anyone else has had with using audio books to help students improve their reading skills.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
I am presently listening to Bleak House by Dickens - in the evenings I settle down to listen when the TV offerings are dire. It is amazing how much interest kids take in novelty! Last night my 8 yr old cosied up to enquire when I was going to put the tape in!

I do think it is educational, as you will often find yourself explaining vocabulary etc. If the child then reads a short paragraph he has the confidence to attempt some unfamiliar words.

Interesting forum!

S
S
Being a Student I appreciate what you did........... Writing a article is not a simple thing...............
I referred that Teaching Content with Video Clips I liked it very much...............
Thanx a lot...........

Last edited by Sheryl22; 12/11/07 03:16 AM.

Here is a websiteBellaOnline ALERT: Raw URLs are not allowed in these forums for security reasons. Please use UBB code. If you don't know how to do UBB code just post here for help - we will help out!
V
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
V
Thank you both Siobhain and Sheryl for your kind words.

Regarding the Teaching Content with Video Clips article, I continue to find new ways to incorporate short video clips into lessons which make a powerful impact on the students in a short amount of time.

Even more exciting is the fact that I just recently was able to secure grant funding to purchase a LCD projector for each classroom. Now every teacher will have unlimited opportunities throughout the day to enhance their instruction with meaningful, related video clips. I'm thrilled!

Moderated by  Celestine - Special Ed 

Link Copied to Clipboard