Next Thread
Print Thread
#247012 05/05/06 01:46 AM
K
Gecko
OP Offline
Gecko
K
What are your thoughts on this device? Are you in favor of the implant or opposed to it? Why? Do you feel that children should receive the implant or not? Why? Do you think it helps deaf people or not? Why?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
#247013 06/06/06 12:56 AM
E
Koala
Koala
E
Well I'm no expert and I'm biased because this amazing invention was created in Australia... but everything I've heard about it has been extremely positive.

Now I suppose the question really is - do you try to "fix" someone who can't hear? What about the fact that deaf people have more intensity in their other senses? Should you remove that possibility, of developing extraordinary senses, from a deaf child just so that they can hear? Perhaps they will grow up to be perfumers or flavorists because those senses are heightened. I know there are deaf people out there who would consider hearing to be an unnecessary extra. I'm playing devil's advocate here...

Elle Carter Neal
BellaOnline Alumna
#247014 06/23/06 03:43 PM
K
Gecko
OP Offline
Gecko
K
Thank you for posting such an insightful viewppoint on the topic.

#247015 07/24/06 05:20 AM
Parakeet
Parakeet
I definitely will have one when the time comes. The strides they are making are incredible. I just got a handbook and DVD about the implant and it sure has changed since my father was a candidate many years ago.

I belong to a Hard of Hearing and Late Deafened group and not one person who has an implant regrets it.

I think these implants open up a whole new world for the deaf and, I, for one, wouldn't want to let the chance to communicate and hear sounds pass me by when there is something that can help me.

Just my own thoughts, I am sure others may think differently.

[color:"#800080"]Wrestling Editor: [url=BellaOnline ALERT: For anti-spam reasons, we restrict the number of URLs allowed in a given post. You have exceeded our maximum number of URLs.