logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
schumi Offline OP
OP Offline
when you're expert in some field,you work well,then how do you improve yourself?watch books?internet?learn from others?do something else that you don't know how to start?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
H
Koala
Koala
H
I am an expert in knitting, and i'm still learning and improving. In knitting i: 1)practice, (knit) 2)explore inventing new techniques and patterns, 3)teach others (this also helps me improve), read knitting magazines, newsletters and books, watch demonstrations of other knitters in person, t.v., and online, explore on the internet, listen to other knitters telling me of news and what they have done and seen.

i think it depends on the nature of your field which options of improvement will be the most helpful to you. But when you are an expert, often it is because you have a passion for your field and you will explore it in any way you can. Experts need to keep current, so this means having some knowledge of new developments and specialties.

I've heard it said that if you read for an hour or two a day on one subject (the subject should be narrow enough), that you can be a national expert within 2-3 years. I believe this is true, and have sometimes been tempted to choose a new subject to study. smile

In what subjects are the rest of our Bella-folk experts? Or would like to be experts? What things can we do well?

Elephant
Elephant
me:

Hair/Beauty
GLBT History/Education
HIV/AIDS Education
Safer Sex Education
Adoption
Mental Disorders/Counseling
Public Speaking/T&D/Communications

However I am always learning something new in the fields every day. My mom told me that the day I stop learning something new is the day I should give up.

J. Ruel - Gay Lesbian News Editor

Check out the latest article on the Gay Lesbian SITE or Join us in the FORUM

Questions? Comments? Story Ideas? SUBMIT THEM HERE