Next Thread
Print Thread
B
bricore Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
B
I am really new to this but I bought some kefir grains to make some milk beer. So, far they are growing.

I seen some places (not here in the US) are selling it as milk beer. I thought that was pretty cool.

I did a little post on my blog about it and put a picture of what it looks like just incase any of you would be interested in seeing it.

It's posted here
BellaOnline ALERT: Raw URLs are not allowed in these forums for security reasons. Please use UBB code. If you don't know how to do UBB code just post here for help - we will help out!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
I know this is not the same thing, Dora, but I thought it interesting that different varieties of "milk beer" are entering the beer market. I had posted this in my newsletter, but thought it might also be of interest to those who don't receive it:

Abashiri Beer Brewery in Nakashibetsu, Hokkaido, Japan is producing a low-malt beer made with milk, developed to help use up surplus milk in the Japanese market. Sale of the new product began in February, 2007. Milk makes up one-third of the contents and necessitates the careful control of temperature throughout the boil. When yeast and hops are added, the drink mimics the appearance and aroma of tea with milk. After fermentation is complete, it takes on the hazy, amber look of a dark wheat beer, with mild fruity flavors.

The new phrase, "I'm not getting drunk, I'm fighting off osteoporosis by building strong bones and teeth," has a catchy sound to it...

Have you had any responses to your recipe request?

Carolyn, Beer & Brewing Editor
The Beer Fox

Beer and Brewing Website
Beer & Brewing Forums

B
bricore Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
B
Hello Carolyn,
I like that article. Most people when they think Milk beer they tend to think of the two mixed together and can't think that it would taste good.