Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 8 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
I
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
I
I'm a CF school teacher who went to an Ivy League college, and I feel an excellent role model for the girls and boys I teach. The important thing is to let children know they have choices, and that they don't have to go along with the crowd just because it's what they're "supposed" to do. They need to be empowered to make the choices that are right for them (traditional or not), and respected, not questioned, for the decisions that affect only themselves. It's what we who are on this board want as well - just that we be respected for the choices which are our right to make.

Last edited by iluvsummer; 03/20/07 07:29 PM.
Sponsored Post Advertisement
jmb Offline
Shark
Shark
Originally Posted By: iluvsummer
The important thing is to let children know they have choices, and that they don't have to go along with the crowd just because it's what they're "supposed" to do. They need to be empowered to make the choices that are right for them (traditional or not), and respected, not questioned, for the decisions that affect only themselves.

Well said iluvsummer!
I wish everyone could feel that empowered and make only the choices that are right for them, and not succumb to peer pressure to be the "norm".
There is a lot of talk about peer pressure in high school: to drink, have sex, smoke, do drugs etc.
There is not as much awareness that peer pressure continues into adulthood: get married, have kids, make lots of money, buy a house, pay for your kids' college education, give up your life for your kids etc... Really, does it ever stop? Everyone is different - can't we realize that we should just let everyone decide what's right for them???

Last edited by jmb; 03/21/07 07:42 AM.
I
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
I