logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
I
iahayah Offline OP
OP Offline
I
I am a high school sophomore and I have recently began to wonder if I have a learning disability. You see, I think the connections in my brain are slower than most. It takes me longer to answer math problems on tests, regardless of whetheer I completley understand the problem or not. I can do the work, but the individual problem always seems to take longer than those around me.

Similarily, I am slower at other connection related processes, such as entering numbers into calculators, remembering items I have down cold in my memory, etc. I can do all these things, but it seems to take longer than everyone else. It's as though my brain is in slow motion, or everyone else's is fast.

I never really realized anything was wrong until I noticed how different people around me were. They seemed much more efficient, and generally faster at what they did. This generally bothers me in math and science. Could this be a learning disability?

email me back at aranyria@cedarinteractive.com soon please.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Parakeet
Parakeet
Maybe you're a visual spatial learner?? If so, school would be harder for you...

Also, some kids who are gifted struggle in school.

BellaOnline Editor
Stone Age Human
BellaOnline Editor
Stone Age Human
Here's an article that may be of interest:

Coping with Dyscalculia
http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art40302.asp

It is a math related learning disability.

Susan

B
Amoeba
Amoeba
B
I can really relate to you a lot because I have the same stituation. I am a Junior this year in high school and I pass all of my classes but I need more time than everyone else to complete my homework and tests. I need a special class which is called Resource or RSP at my school. It's a class where I can do my homework and get help wih problems I might have. It also gives me more time for me to finish up my tests.