logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
OP Offline
P
Hi all,

I am brand new to gigging. I've only performed live twice, and each time just a few songs but I am having a problem and am desperate for some advice!

My problem is that when my digital piano is hooked up to a PA system it sounds as if it is out of tune. Its a very strange and off putting experience but basically, if I hit a key anywhere around the middle of the piano the sound that comes back to me through the speakers sounds perfect, but as I move further away from middle C, its as if the sounds go out of tune.

So, a middle C comes back to me as a C, but a C higher up the scale starts to sound like a D, and this gets worse the higher (and presumably lower) I go.

Does anyone have any ideas about this? I know for a fact that the notes arent out of tune, its just how I am perceiving them.

Do I just need to adapt to this or are there some common tricks used by gigging piano/keyboard players to over come this? For example, Ive been thinking about an earpiece connected directly to the digi piano, or a small monitor, etc. The digi piano I use was not that expensive and therefore doesnt have a line-out, so whilst it is connected to the PA the piano itself returns no sound to me at all, all I hear is from the PA.

Please please please help! :-)

Steven

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
Hi Steve

That sounds like a strange problem alright. It sounds like the tuning is set to a strange mode or something, although on a cheap keyboard this is not usually an option.

Tuning variations that change as you go up and down the board are possible (I have one here on a Korg Wavestation) on some 'boards. Double check that your tuning is set to standard 440 A before you go any further.

When you play at home, are all the notes and chords in tune as you move around the board? What is the make of your 'board?