logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
E
OP Offline
E
Hello everyone, I am new here, and I have what I consider to be a big problem. I am obsessed (!) with a celebrity. It started out as just mild interest and gossiping but it's now gotten way out of hand. I am a 47 yo professional woman w/a busy job and home life. This problem is embarassing! I can't admit it to my closest friends or even my doctor. It's the kind of thing I would expect out of a teenager (no offense to teens here). Has anyone else had this & what should I do to cure this???

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Amoeba
Amoeba
Check out this article written by Lisa Angelettie. She has some great ideas here and it may be helpful for you. It also might help to actually talk about why you are concerned about your behavior. What do you do, how are you thinking. Sometimes being able to verbalize this will allow you to see something you haven't before. http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art28512.asp

Carissa Vaughn Mental Health Editor
E
OP Offline
E
Thanks,Carissa. I have read this article before but will print it off and carry it with me!! Why am I concerned about this? Well,it monopolizes my thoughts, and it's a dead end - I know I should be more interested in my own life but I can't seem to get anything going. I wish there were a support group for people like me..

Amoeba
Amoeba
That is a fantastic idea actually! Here are some results I found for starting your own, from other articles I've read online you are definitely not alone.
1. http://add.about.com/c/ht/01/06/How_Start_Support_Group0991535632.htm
2. http://mentalhelp.net/selfhelp/

I like the second one best because it gives online options for those with busy schedules. Let me know if you do it! I think that would be a really awesome opportunity for you if you do.
Blessings!

Last edited by Carissa_MentalHealth; 10/10/06 02:48 PM.

T
T