OP Offline
Shark

Danielle Garrison
BellaOnline's Paranormal Editor
Co-Founder Crossroads Paranormal
Sponsored Post Advertisement
Amoeba
Amoeba
This subject has always been a fascinating one to me. I was a practitioner of Wicca for several years before I became an eclectic Pagan. I also a couple years of grad school focusing on religion and magic from the ancient to the modern world. So when I speak on the topic, I speak from personal experience, and also from an historical perspective.

I had several conversations with a fellow student when I was an undergrad, who was a good 10 yrs older than me, who was very adamant about being glad that she did not remain a practitioner of Voodoo. She claimed that it was too cultish for her, and that's why she went back to Christianity. Fine for her I guess. I don't see anything wrong with Voodoo. Its a combination of west african witchcraft/folk religion and Christianity, as far as I know I think there are correspondences between the saints and the spirits. I am pretty sure it is also like this in Santeria. I am really interested in learning about Brujeria, but cannot find much information at all unfortunately. From what I understand, Brujeria differs from Santeria, in that it is entirely a form of witchcraft that hasn't been meshed with Christianity.