Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
BellaOnline Editor
Stone Age Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Stone Age Human
Can anyone help a reader with this question?

"My friends little boy (year4) often fiddles with his pencil or something else on his desk while listening to the teacher talk. He has been put on an IEP for "fiddling" -surely this is not right! as a teacher myself I think that his target of sitting still for 5 minutes at the start of a lesson will do him more harm than good.

Do you know of any research which my friend could take to his teacher to prove that he is a kinesthetic learner who needs to fiddle (blu-tack in pocket?) to concentrate?"

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
Hi-- I'm new to the forum, so before I respond to your post, I just wanted to introduce myself. I live in Southern California. I teach Special Education, 4-5 combo--and I love it.

Now, I was wondering about your friend's little boy. Has he been diagnosed as ADHD or with any other learning disability? Does he always fiddle, or only when he is being given direction? Maybe the teacher is just covering her bases, or setting up a papertrail for future LD testing.

Either way, he should be formally tested to prove one way (that he has ADHD, or a LD) or the other (a tactual learner with no LD)

If he is a tactual learner, maybe his mother can give him a "worry stone" or quietly squeeze one of those "worry ball/hacky sacs" when he is learning.

Here's a little information I found in my personal files from a workshop I once attended that your friend might find helpful:

Body Language and Learning Styles

How body language indicates learning styles
For intaking information

A visual learner usually sits up very straight and follows the presenter around with her eyes.

An auditory learner often softly repeats to herself words spoken by the presenter, or nods her head a lot when the facilitator is presenting